Posted by: MarksvilleandMe | November 5, 2011

Siblings Separated a True Story part 14

Oh the Twins. I have come to the reality I could not have been a twin. There are said to have been three sets of twins born to my bio mother. She would give one away in the hospital or where ever the trade went down and take the other home. Two sets have been confirmed but the third set was never confirmed. Since our records are sealed apparently forever we can’t even find out some things which makes it so hard to track down the answers. On top of that we have stories which are all the same no matter who you talk to about it. Would have been much more simple if our bio parents would have just told us more but they held it all the information and took it to their graves with them.

The reason I don’t think I have the twin is because I don’t think my bio mom would have flaunted me around in front of my parents if it was so. She would have just given them one and took one for herself, although I think my parents would have fought for the other. Isn’t that a hoot? For herself. She sure could have kids, but taking care of them was a whole other story. I remember back to that day I went to check on Bryan and my bio mother was at my younger sisters house, where she died if you remember. While there she kept going on how I looked like someone else, she always tried to get the kids to believe someone else was their father, messing with their heads. Well she wasn’t getting into mine. My son looks like my father, while Bryan looks like my bio father. On top of that I have things wrong with my blood that tie me to the Graham side, while others are from my bio mother’s side, at least from their nationality, so what she was able to get away with some of my siblings was not working on me. The only good thing I can see that I got from her was the easy births of  my children, and that I am really smart. Her IQ was through the roof or so I have been told countless times by everyone who knew her. I just wonder why someone could be so smart and mess up so badly? I will probably never know, but will always wonder.

Some people have asked so I thought I would go back to when my bio father became terminal. Both of my parents had already passed on as well as my bio mother. My Aunt kept calling me saying I needed to come and see my bio father, that he was asking for me. Well time went on and the calls got more urgent. I fought with myself each time the calls came. Do I go? What will people think? Would  this have hurt my parents? The reason for such a fuss is because once he was away from my bio mother he stopped drinking, and started living a decent life. He was liked by many even with his past which he never hid from. He made a total recovery and was a good man in the end. So when the last few calls came I called my other Aunt and Uncle who were much more close to my father I asked what I should do. She gave me the best advice, that I should go see him and pay my respects as his niece and he as my uncle the way I had grown up with it being. I said thank you to her and later that day went to see him.

Of course the room he was in was the same exact room my mother had died in, so the emotions waved over me something fierce. I had all I could do even set foot inside the room. I finally made that leap and looked at a shell that looked so much like my father, but wasn’t, but yet again he was the one who had given me life. I had waited so long that he couldn’t talk anymore, but he did know I was in the room and motioned for me to come over to him, where he held out his hand. I took it and began talking to him. I told him that I loved him for letting my parents raise me, that they had done a great job. I told him I forgave him, and that even though he had made mistakes he had changed the way he was, and that is what mattered. I told him my parents were always proud that he had stopped drinking, had gotten baptized, and had even attended church from time to time. I told him about my children, his grandkids and how much they had inherited from the Graham side. I talked to him until it was time to go and promised him that I would be back the next day.

The next day came, Dennis and I had gone out shopping, and on the way home I was really tired and I said to just take me home, but almost half way home I said turn around I promised I would go see him today. So Dennis turned the van around and drove me back to the hospital. I was rounding the corner when all of a sudden there were a bunch of people coming, the nurse said they had been trying to call me his time was short, and this was it. I went to his room, and sure enough my family wasn’t too far behind in joining me, and we all made our way over to him to let him know we were there. When it was my turn, I took his hand and said I was there just like a promised. He squeezed my hand, took a breath, and then he was gone. My Aunt dropped me off at my house that night, and would get with me about the funeral arrangements.

I have to say everything that could go wrong in getting to the funeral did. Dennis had to cover for his manager, then once we could go we couldn’t find the gravesite, so we ended up just going to my Uncle’s house and waiting for everyone to get there. Even though I missed the services, I was able to be with family and friends and hear some good stories about him growing up, and even some about my bio mother. She was a piece of work from the get go from my understanding. In the end he was remembered for the good he did on Earth. Always helping others out, no matter how things were in his life, much like my father. The legacy of the Graham family still lives on in my own children today, the life from my bio father, and the love from my father which holds us all together. We will always move forward, and we will always rise to the top, no matter what the circumstances.


Leave a comment

Categories